Code word: Tom & Jerry

Further to my posts on the growing of the Hizb ut-Tahrir’s following in Southern Kyrgyzstan, here’s an article the Institute for War and Peace Reporting (IWPR) just published on the spread of Islamist propaganda in the form of CDs and videotapes (alias Tom  & Jerry) by one Muhammad Amin – a passionate supporter of the Uzbek exiled Islamic radical Tahir Yoldash.

While the Hizb ut-Tahrir movement has always taken pains to disassociate itself from the Islamic Movement of Uzbekistan (IMU), of which Yoldash is supposed to be the leader, on the grounds that the former does not support violence, it is nonetheless worth noting that in face of the “common enemy” the two Islamist groups face, i.e. the secular authoritarian regimes of Kyrgyzstan and Uzbekistan, such disassociation may not remain a permanent fixture.

For what’s worth, the Kyrgyz government has historically been a lot more tolerant to its opposition (both secular and Muslim) than its Uzbek counterpart. One thing, however, is clear, and that is support for more radical Islamist groups in the south of Kyrgyzstan is on the rise. This is sure to have increased pressure on Bakiyev’s domestic policies as well as bilateral relations with neighbouring Uzbekistan.

4 Responses

  1. This post and similar ones in this blogs are seems to me like typical western propaganda promoting western and perticularly us interests by spreading the stories about far away lands without knowing the ground reality. If you’re talking about Hizb ut-Tahrir then that means you are a propagandist for Western interests. sorry mate, but that’s the truth. 🙂

  2. Thank you for your comment. While I’m open and welcoming of different opinions, your criticism of this blog post being propaganda, seems unjustified to me. Firstly, my intent in posting this story was to give an update on the news headlines of a country I’m studying at the moment. The story I referred to was published by IWPR, which is a source I respect for their quality investigative journalism. Secondly, if the information is indeed incorrect, it would be a lot more valuable if you stated HOW precisely it is incorrect, or at least WHY YOU THINK it is incorrect. Complaining and making accusations without offering an opinion or back up for your criticism is, to say the least, unproductive. What is more, it puts you in the category of those same people you seem to dislike so much, i.e. people promoting propaganda. You would do yourself a service to be less judgemental of people’s intentions and more open to dialog rather than open confrontation.

    Best regards,
    Linda

  3. Hi Linda, I’m sorry about my last comment, when I hear people talking about obscure topics like the Hizb ut-Tahrir etc when there is so much more happening I got angry. And I’m not imformed enough to tell you about the real situation in central asia though I know for sure the socalled Islamic threat there is gross exaggeration to exploit the regions oil resources.

    However I’ve also posted about this area in my Islam blog sometime back in this post Uzbekistan: Islam Karimov Government “Manufactures” Al Qaeda Terrorists

    It’s always best to get info from the direct sources don’t you think? I have a British Friend who is a member of Hizb ut-Tahrir who writes this blog called Islamic Unity. He seems to be well informed about hizb ul tahrir’s activities around the world. He’s not much online these days but if you have any questions regarding them he may respond if you leave them in that blog.

    btw no I’m not a member of Hizb ut-Tahrir though I support their aim as you will gather from my blog.

    Cheers from Sri Lanka

  4. Thank you for the clarification. I really appreciate your taking the time to explain your response.

    Your blog post is very interesting and I am inclined to agree with you (second-hand as my information may be) that yes, certain governments in the region are using the “Muslim argument” to control or get rid of opposition altogether. Your description of vodka-chugging Sovietized Muslims is rather amusing.

    There is something to be said about getting your information from direct sources, but even then, I would remain sceptical and question why this or that person is giving me this or that particular information.

    And thank you for the link to your friend’s blog. I’ll be sure to check this.

Leave a Reply

